Dick Riley

Riley png

Advisory Board

Secretary Riley has joined the NTN Advisory Board to provide strategic advice on the management and growth of the New Tech Network.

Richard W. Riley, for whom the Riley Institute at Furman is named, is the former U.S. Secretary of Education (1993–2001) and former Governor of South Carolina (1979–1987). Secretary Riley is currently a senior partner in the law firm of Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough and its affiliate, EducationCounsel, with offices in South and North Carolina, Atlanta, Boston, Huntington (West Virginia), Tallahassee, and Washington, D.C. He works on complex business, governance, financial, legal, education, government process and advocacy matters for local, state, national, and international clients.

With the full support of the firm, Riley remains an ambassador for improving education in the United States and abroad. A former chair, he currently serves on the Board of Trustees at Furman and as Advisory Board chair of the Richard W. Riley Institute of Government, Politics and Public Leadership. Riley has been named distinguished professor at the University of South Carolina, and the College of Education at Winthrop University bears his name, as does the College of Education and Leadership at Walden University. In addition, Riley serves in an advisory and collaborative capacity with several other entities across the nation and overseas that promote progressive education improvement.

He is the recipient of numerous education and other public service awards, as well as honorary degrees from universities and colleges in the United States and abroad. In 2009, Time magazine named Riley one of the Top 10 Best Cabinet Members in our nation’s history. Early in 2010, he was inducted into the South Carolina Hall of Fame. Later that year, he received Leadership South Carolina’s inaugural Dick and Tunky Riley Legacy ofLeadership Award. Riley earned his bachelor’s degree, cum laude, in political science from Furman in 1954 and received a J.D. from the University of South Carolina School of Law in 1959.