Rep. Thompson honors 6 student leaders in Napa County

May 22, 2018
Napa Valley Register

By Kevin Courtney

Rep. Mike Thompson announced that he has named Travis Risley, Anthea Johnson, Isabella “Izzy” Goldman, Savanna Harwood, Larkin Dewyer, and Juan Carlos Mora as the 2018 Student Leaders of the Year in Napa County.

“These students represent the best about our district, even at such a young age, and I am proud to recognize and celebrate their accomplishments in naming them 2018 Student Leaders of the Year.” said Thompson. “Please join me in congratulating these students for their incredible work!”

“Travis (Napa High) is a tireless advocate for recognizing our local law enforcement, biking 1,000 miles last summer to raise money for charity. Anthea (Vintage High) is fighting hard for commonsense gun violence measures, the only student in her high school to participate in the national school walkout in March. Izzy (Napa High) was a key organizer for many gun violence prevention and awareness events in Napa and continues to be a leader among her fellow students. Savanna (New Tech High) is an outspoken student advocate whose words resonate deeply in our community. Larkin (St. Helena High) has formed her own group of students fighting for action to combat climate change and to encourage other students to be politically active. Juan Carlos (Justin-Siena High) worked with other students to organize Napa’s March for Our Lives rally and continues to be active in engaging his fellow students.”

Students were nominated and chosen based on their academic achievements, leadership among fellow students, engagement in the community, and overall contributions to the county. They were honored at a ceremony in Vallejo.

Tags: , , ,