Contest winners named

April 27, 2017
The Republic

Six students will be recognized by the Columbus Human Rights Commission in May after being named winners of this year’s J. Irwin Miller art and Benjamin M. King essay contests.

The winners of the J. Irwin Miller Art Contest are Jessica Meza, St. Bartholomew Catholic School; Emma Nolting, Central Middle School; and Kate Stewart, Columbus North High School. Winners of the Benjamin M. King essay contest are Fareeha Parvin, Southside Elementary School; Jordan Spurgeon, Central Middle School; and Emma Perry, Columbus Signature Academy — New Tech High School.

The theme for this year’s art and essay contests was “Advocating for Others.” The students will be honored during the commission’s annual dinner 6:30 p.m. May 11 at The Commons.

Tickets for the dinner, which must be purchased by 5 p.m. May 5, are $30 per person. They can be purchased at the Human Rights Commission office in Columbus City Hall, 123 Washington St., or online at